New lessons from a new wife.

Chicken Supreme

I didn’t have to work today, so I thought I would make dinner for my husband. Rarely do Justin and I get a chance to eat together because of our schedules, something I hope will change. I gave him a few options out of the recipe files (because I learned that having him go thru and look for himself was too overwhelming for him) The options included “Chicken Supreme“, “Turkey Pot Pie”, or “Gram’s Ham”. This time he wanted the “Chicken Supreme”.

I had most of the ingredients needed for the dish, but still needed some of the produce. After the grocery run, I began to make this dish. I have learned, after more than 2 years of marriage, that my husband doesn’t eat a good three meals a day. He gets, at most, two. So I told him well in advance that he would be making this dinner a priority and to be hungry when I was finished making it.

Chicken Supreme:

2 C cooked chicken

2 C chopped celery

1 C cooked rice

3 Tbsp lemon juice

1/4 C chopped green pepper

1 can cream of chicken

1/2 C chopped green onion

3/4 C mayo

1 can mushrooms, drained

1/2 C crushed potato chips

Combine all ingredients except crushed potato chips. Place in baking pan and sprinkle with chips. Bake at 350 degrees for 25-30 minutes.

Some of the changes I made are as followed:

  • I used cream of chicken and mushroom soup and did not use a can of mushrooms because Justin and I don’t like mushrooms too much.
  • I used about 2 1/2 cups of cooked chicken and added salt and pepper during cooking (I placed the raw chicken in a large sauce pan with 1 cup of water, simmered for about 20 minutes, flipping 2-3 times.)
  • I added salt and pepper to taste.
  • I used my 2QT Pyrex  dish
My thoughts (and Justin’s) about this dish:
  • Very good taste, but too much celery. Next time I would cut the celery down to about 1/2 cup and leave the other veggies the same.
  • I wanted the potato chips to be a little crispy, so with 2 minutes left I turned the broiler on. This made the chips too crispy and appeared burnt but did not affect the taste at all.
  • I gave this dish an 85% and I would probably make it again. Justin gave it a 75% because he really doesn’t like celery.
Leave a Reply

